MR
02/01/06
Harry Magdoff, 1913-2006

Harry Magdoff, editor of Monthly Review, died peacefully on 1 January 2006, surrounded by his son Fred Magdoff, Fred's wife Amy, his longtime caregiver, and his friends.  We will miss him.

I never expected a socialist America in my lifetime.  That doesn't mean that I was smarter than anyone else, but it just wasn't my temperament.

Harry MagdoffEvery summer the Marxist School has a picnic at our place, and after they go swimming and have their food, we sit for several hours and talk under a tree.  It's very nice.  One person at the end this last time said, "What do you expect, and how can you be the way you are without expecting socialism?"

I said, "I don't know.  I don't expect anything particular.  But this is the way I am.  I can't be any other way.  I have to believe that there can be a better world."

Harry Magdoff and Paul M. Sweezy
Harry Magdoff and Paul M. Sweezy, 1985

Articles Online

Fred Magdoff and Harry Magdoff, "Approaching Socialism," Monthly Review 57.3 (July-August 2005).

Harry Magdoff, "Farewell, Comrade Paul," Monthly Review 56.5 (October 2004).

Harry Magdoff, "Encounters with Che," Monthly Review 56.4 (September 2004).

Fred Magdoff and Harry Magdoff, "Disposable Workers: Today's Reserve Army of Labor," Monthly Review 51.11 (April 2004).

Harry Magdoff, "A Note on the Communist Manifesto," Monthly Review 50.1 (May 1998).

Harry Magdoff, "A Letter to a Contributor: The Same Old State," Monthly Review 49.8 (January 1998).

Harry Magdoff, "A Note on 'Market Socialism,'" Monthly Review 47.1 (May 1995).

Harry Magdoff, "Why Market Socialism?" Monthly Review 47.1 (May 1995).

Harry Magdoff, "Are There Lessons to Be Learned? The Future of Socialism," Monthly Review 42.9 (February 1991).

Harry Magdoff, "Are There Economic Laws of Socialism?" Monthly Review (July-August 1985).

Interviews Online

Huck Gutman, "Capitalism as a World Economy: An Interview with Harry Magdoff," Monthly Review 55.4 (September 2003).

Susan Green, "The Sage of Imperialism," Seven Days (30 April-7 May 2003).

Huck Gutman, "Creating a Just Society: Lessons from Planning in the U.S.S.R. & the U.S. -- An Interview with Harry Magdoff," Monthly Review 54.5 (October 2002).

Christopher Phelps, "An Interview with Harry Magdoff," Monthly Review 51.1 (May 1999).

Books

Harry Magdoff, Imperialism without Colonies (Monthly Review Press, 2003).

Harry Magdoff, Globalization: To What End? (Monthly Review Press, 1992)

Harry Magdoff and Paul M. Sweezy, The Irreversible Crisis (Monthly Review Press, 1988).

Harry Magdoff and Paul M. Sweezy, Stagnation and the Financial Explosion (Monthly Review Press, 1987).

Harry Magdoff and Paul M. Sweezy, The Deepening Crisis of US Capitalism (Monthly Review Press, 1979). 

Harry Magdoff, Imperialism: From the Colonial Age to the Present (Monthly Review Press, 1978).

Harry Magdoff and Paul M. Sweezy, The End of Prosperity (Monthly Review Press, 1977). 

Harry Magdoff and Paul M. Sweezy, The Dynamics of U.S. Capitalism (Monthly Review Press, 1970)

Harry Magdoff, The Age of Imperialism: The Economics of U. S. Foreign Policy (Monthly Review Press, 1969).

Harry Magdoff, Economic Aspects of U.S. Imperialism (Monthly Review Press, 1966).

Harry Magdoff, Black America: Economic Shock Absorber (Wisconsin Draft Resistance Union, 1965).

Harry Magdoff, Problems of United States Capitalism (Radical Education Project, 1965). 

Harry Magdoff, Irving Herbert Siegel, and Milton B Davis, Production, Employment, and Productivity in 59 Manufacturing Industries, 1919-36 (1939).

Harry Magdoff, "The Purpose and Method of Measuring Productivity," Journal of the American Statistical Association 34.206 (June 1939).


|
MR